Welcome To

Nigeria Aquatic Federation

Welcome to the world of water


The Nigeria Aquatics Federation is the sports organising body governing the aquatic disciplines of Swimming, Open Water Swimming, Water Polo, Diving, Artistic Swimming, High Diving & Masters and their activities in Nigeria. 


The Federation has, since it was established in 1958, been affiliated to the International Swimming Federation (FINA), founded in 1908, and to the Nigeria Olympic Committee (NOC) which was formed in 1949, and initially named the Nigeria Olympic and British Empire & Commonwealth Games Association (NOBECGA). In 1970, when the African Swimming Confederation (CANA) was founded, Nigeria was one of the founding members.


FINA recently (January 2023) officially changed it’s name to World Aquatics (AQUA), and CANA subsequently also changed it’s own name to Africa Aquatics (AA) in March 2023.


State Aquatics / Swimming Associations & the FCT Abuja Association, which all have the responsibility of promoting, encouraging and supporting the development of the various aquatic disciplines within their geographical areas, are all affiliates of the Nigeria Aquatics Federation. Also affiliated to the Federation are Swimming Associations / Clubs in various Federal Military & Paramilitary organisations, several other Federal Agencies, as well as in Federal & Private Universities and Polytechnics. 


The Federation’s Headquarters was initially in Lagos, in offices provided by the National Sports Council. In 1973 it was, however, moved to the Swimming complex within the newly built National Stadium, Surulere which hosted the 2nd All Africa Games in January that year. It was again moved to the new National Stadium Swimming Complex in Abuja FCT (later renamed M.K.O International Stadium) when Nigeria hosted the 8th All Africa Games in October 2003.